top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThat Dame Lana

The Two Rachel's

On this day in 1975 the Soap Opera, Another World became the first Soap to expand to 60 minutes airing 5 days a week. I was in elementary school. This Soap became significant to my life years later.


I'd watch Another World, All My Children, Dark Shadows, Love of Life, The Doctors, Ryan's Hope, General Hospital, The Young & the Restless, The Edge of Night, Days of Our Lives, etc., with my mother and sometimes grandmother as a very young kid. Those were the first ones I recall.


My mother was not addicted to Soaps. I watched them long after she stopped. I think she only watched and enjoyed when my sister and I were really young. She was a nurse and busy raising two daughters. She didn't have time for the shenanigans in Pine Valley after awhile.


I was addicted to Soaps. I love messy and drama. One Life To Live & General Hospital were the ones I watched with my friends when I was in Jr. High & High School. We'd run home from the school bus to catch General Hospital. Luke & Laura's wedding (General Hospital) was more iconic than Princess Diana's wedding, which was the same year. I watched that with my friends too, that was an epic event.


Back to why this day resonates with me. (Thanks to Twitter for posting about this date.)


I gave myself the middle name Rachel after Rachel Cory the villain from the Soap Opera, Another World. I thought she was a real badass and I was obsessed with her drama as a pre-teen & teen. She was more ruthless than Erica Kane (Susan Lucci) from All My Children. :-)


At 18 I legally had the middle-name Rachel put on my birth certificate. Since my first name was not there either I could have really fucked with my parents. LOL! (Born Diva!)




Read my full blog post on how I was able to name myself Rachel after Rachel Cory from Another World. Find out which Hollywood goddess is my first name, namesake. No, it's not Marilyn.


Click button below!


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page