top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThat Dame Lana

Sliders On Deck & Nostalgia

Updated: Dec 20, 2022

You can take the Dame out of New York but you can't take the New York out of the Dame.

Would you wait in line for more than 4 hours to order White Castle?


The line at a White Castle grand opening in Orlando, Florida customers had to wait in line for 4 hours PLUS! long. It is the largest free-standing White Castle in the world. I heard they were giving out cake too. I would almost do it for cake. I'm not even mad at this. What else is there to do during a pandemic? I'm sure most didn't think it would be so long.


(Video credit: Joel Franco)


Real talk, I could drive to the nearest White Castle which is in the State of Tennessee, get food, and return home faster.


I love White Castle even though there is a price to pay. It is a taste of home. The frozen doesn't beat the real thing but it takes the edge off. I really need those fries & onion rings.


My childhood/teenage White Castle was the after-club spot. Going inside ordering HIGH AS A KITE with my friends. They have lights brighter than Broadway. I recall trying not to laugh too much, and too loud. I always laughed a lot when I smoked and my eyes were always a dead giveaway. Good Times!


The hometown White Castle - the scene of the crime.

Sad to hear this one closed down...this is the one I'd go to the most before I move to Atlanta. When I say the most I mean a couple of times a year. They don't hit as an adult like they did back in the day. The pandemic has me buying more fast food/casual dining food at the grocery store. I'm not going to eat out so I bring Friday's potato skin to me.


Even when I did eat out a lot it was rarely fast food or chain dining. I like my Diner for almost anything and I have 2 pizza places that will do. It was always fuck Papa John's, Domino's, and Pizza Hut.


So funny this cat tweet was posted on Twitter on 12/16/2022.

It reminded me of White Castle


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page