top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThat Dame Lana

Like a Rolling Stone - Tours & more...

Updated: May 9, 2021

Being a Rolling Stones fan is a lifestyle.



My childhood bedroom that I shared with my sister. My side...posters of Mick & Rod on my wall. I wasn't even a teen yet and I had an eye for older men. LOL! I never imagined by the time I got old enough to see the Stones & Rod live they would still be around. They both had careers before I was born. Here we are in 2020 and I have Stones tickets again. The show is postponed due to the Coronavirus. Mick will be 77 this week. I made my childhood dreams come true by seeing them both. Mick several times and just one for Sir Rod Stewart.

This was my first Rolling Stones album. A gift from my mother. One of my favorite gifts ever. I realize now how spoiled I was.

Tattoo You - 1981

Tattoo You is the 16th British and 18th American studio album by the Rolling Stones, released in 1981. The album is mostly composed of studio outtakes recorded during the 1970s, and contains one of the band's most well-known songs, "Start Me Up".


My dog Buz was a Stones fan too. I miss my little boy.

My Stones tattoo is faded. It is past time to get my tats re-inked. Let's not talk about my eyebrows. They are so overdue for permanent makeup. They have completely faded.

The picture below is from my vacation in Atlanta. I visited before I made the big move from NY. I got a serious tan playing in the hotel pool. It was July and I found out what "Hotter Than July" really meant. The "A" was on fire that year. (2003)

Kitt in Stones my Stones tee holding my Blake bag. I got that bag during my shopping spree in NYC when I went to see the Stones.

The Rolling Stones in ATLANTA - Bobby Dodd Stadium.

Zip Codes Tour - 2015

What tee you wear to a Stones show is a thing. I wore mine from the NYC, 50 & Counting Tour. I didn't see this one on anyone. I got asked about it a lot.

The Rolling Stones’ first trip to Atlanta since 2006 and their second trip to Bobby Dodd Stadium. The Stones’ 1989 concert was the first held in the newly renamed Bobby Dodd Stadium at Historic Grant Field. I love the photo-bomb. I go to shows alone all the time.

Gimme Shelter - Lisa Fischer killing the vocals.



Licks Tour- 1994

My first Rolling Stones concert (Licks Tour) with my friend Debbie. I went to my second Rolling Stones show with her too. Bridges To Babylon in NYC at Madison Square Garden, 1997. We worked together in NY. We loved going to shows together and to the local yocal hole in the wall bar. She would play Marshall Tucker Band, Stones, Allman Brothers & Aerosmith on the Jukebox. I remember playing Bush and The Black Crowes. She also introduced me to The Paper Bag.


You are not from Long Island if you do not know Paper Bag (What a Drag). The Paper Bag is the world's longest-running 70 Piece Rock Band. (each year the band grows, I wonder how big it is now). They play at a bar on Long Island the last Tuesday in June every year. No one goes to work the next day, it goes until 4 am...well it used to. It always has a musical theme. Debbie's brother Scott was/is a band member. I've missed many Paper Bags since I live in Atlanta now. I think this year will be the 42nd year of the event....well Corona probably put the brakes on it. I can't say for sure Long Island has been in the news lately with embarrassing takes (that is another story). I will do a Paper bag post too.

Tailgating in New Jersey - The Meadowlands. (I don't know if the stadium is still known as The Meadowlands now.) They keep building up the real estate in & around the stadium. I think a new mall is there now and an amusement park?

The Rolling Stones -1994 (Licks Tour)

The Licks Tour was a worldwide concert tour undertaken by The Rolling Stones during 2002 and 2003, in support of their 40th-anniversary compilation album Forty Licks. The tour grossed over $300 million, becoming the second highest-grossing tour at that time, behind their own Voodoo Lounge Tour of 1994–1995. (these stats may not be true today.)

Sadly my friend Debbie passed away around 2009. She was young and a heavy drinker. Her brother Scott is also the one who worked at the Waldorf Astoria and snuck us in to see the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremonies. He was a sound guy for the Waldorf. We got to camp out above the crowd and watch the show every year.


Voodoo Lounge Tee - wow! I've never worn it. Too many clothes.

I made a cake for Mick's Birthday - 2019. I always celebrate.

Sir Michael Philip Jagger is an English singer, songwriter, actor, and film producer who gained worldwide fame as the lead singer and one of the founder members of the Rolling Stones. Born: July 26, 1943 (age 76 years), Dartford, United Kingdom

I have a lot of Stones memorabilia. I located these items. I have framed artwork in storage.

This is why I need my big bookshelf with the library ladder. Bookworm problems. I am manifesting it. Big Bookshelf & Library Ladder.... BE MINE!!

Everyone knows I am a Stones fan. It makes getting me gifts fairly easy. I get gifts that I have already purchased for myself. I will start putting some of the doubles on eBay or some online shop. I keep starting online shops and forgetting about them.


If you want a copy of Charlie is my Darling , (still in the original wrapper) or Life by Keith Richards message me.

DESTINATION: The Rolling Stones - New York City - Barclays Center

50 & Counting Tour 2012

I saved a brick for this holiday.

Room service after a long day of shopping. He said I could video him. I tip, tip. :-)

One Ticket: $831.90 (not scalped)

Airfare: Alot

Hotel: Alot

Shopping: Alot

I needed another piece of luggage for all my merch plus I shopped at my favorite Kors store.



31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page