top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThat Dame Lana

I have to tell you a little story about where I we come from. They call it a Hamlet.(you fancy huh?)

Updated: Apr 11, 2021


My name is Veronica -----


Even now some maps don't list my hometown Greenlawn, New York. It's located on Long Island's North Shore. Wiki says it's a Hamlet of Huntington. I kinda like the Hamlet part, sounds intriguing. For all you Lambs Mariah Carey is from Greenlawn. I noticed her Wiki says Huntington but she always says she's from Greenlawn. 

Mariah graduated from the same High School as my Dad. The same school that my parents went to Senior Prom together. My mother was 4 years older than my dad, is that a cougar by today's standards? I'll get to them later.


This Urban Dictionary  map sksksksskkksk



Junior High clique. 7th Grade. The girl in the yellow is still my best friend. I was in her wedding. My clique adventures are epic. Of course more to come. That's me in the Chic shirt, the backside felt letters say Good Times. I told you music ruled my life. My best friends shirt said Get Off & Foxy. Foxy sang the song "Get Off". "Serious" was a song by Jermaine Jackson.  I'm jumping around as thoughts come to my head. When it's all said and done I will have my book. I will decided how the chapters will go when I lay it all out. If I don't start somewhere it will never get done. Starting from when I was a kid and moving forward is overwhelming and I never put anything in writing. 



Long Island at the bottom. Surrounded by 3 sides water. I love my hometown. It's changed so much it's not as glorious but a beautiful Hamlet none the same. For the record I've never seen a whale in the water.

I loved to go clubbing and that's what I did. Music was my passion and still is today. I got around and still do a little sumthin, sumthin today but it better be on the weekend. :-)

My club adventures are like no other. Wait for it..... chapters coming soon.



That's me staying the family in West Virginia. So much more to come on this chapter. My mother was in NY working hard. My Aunts treated me like I was their baby. They were young just teens themselves. I'm the oldest in the family. My mother is the oldest of her sisters and brothers. I was the only grandkid my grandmother got to meet. My Grandmother Pearl passed away at the age of 39. You don't live long in coal mining towns. My mother left that town behind at 18 when she graduated High School. She took a bus to New York and never looked back. My sister and me are the only Yankees in the family. I'm talking about on my Mothers side. Everyone stayed in West Virginia & they are mostly still there. I promise I will explore the family tree later.


This is when I realized how the other half lived. Life was never the same. These were the kids my mother raised. (The Gidisons *sp).  My mother was their Nanny and live-in before she got married to my dad.

This was great family. They had a dog and all the trappings of upper middle class. The little girl had a dream bedroom. We are talking about the late 60's. I thought it was heaven.

I shared a room with my sister until I left home at 19 to join the Army.  I wish I knew where these kids are today. I will post more on this family. I have more pictures of them somewhere. Their grandmother taught my mother how to make authentic Italian food and more. We were treated like family. 



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page