top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThat Dame Lana

It's a Barbie World - Diahann Carol

Updated: Dec 18, 2022

I wasn't collecting Barbie Dolls until I saw a Barbie Doll that was put on the shelf just for me. Being a memorabilia buff this was pure GOLD! They had 6 marked down. In my head I said "marked down?" these are priceless. I scooped them ALL up. I kept two for myself and gave the others to best friends and family. The Barbie Doll is DIAHANN CARROLL from her television show Julia. This started my collection of Barbie's only the 50th Anniversary Edition. I will devote a post to each one. Once I start my redecorating project I plan on displaying a few in acrylic shadow boxes.


Eartha Kitt & Diahann Carroll were like unicorns to me. The first black woman I saw on television. Julia was extra special too because she was a nurse and my mother was a nurse. She wore the same uniform including the throwback hat. My mother worked as a nurse at the same hospital until her death. My sister was born there and that is where I got my first job. **My tales of working in the Dietary Dept. coming soon. I was a teen.

**Julia was an American sitcom. It is notable for being one of the first weekly tv series to depict a Black woman in a non-stereotypical role. Previous television series featured Black lead characters, but the characters were usually servants. The show starred actress and singer Diahann Carroll, and ran for 86 episodes on NBC from September 17, 1968, to March 23, 1971.



**Barbie Collection: Diahann Carroll



















14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page