top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThat Dame Lana

Arthur Baker Follows Me! Planet Rocked!!

Updated: Dec 18, 2022



This one means a lot. Arthur Baker and his music shaped my club days and some of my very best memories.


My 3 1/2 year run clubbing in NYC before I decided to try my luck at as real life Long Island - Private Benjamin was the 80s disco, punk, hip hop scene on overdrive.


The Fun House, Roseland, Bond, Danceteria days.



The Funhouse crowd was mostly Italians & Puerto Ricans from the 5 boroughs, Italians from Jersey and a few Punk/Rock/Hip heads from Long Island. I was part of the Long Island (take the Long Island Railroad) cool kids who loved the bright lights and big city. Long Island was, is, and always will be full of local yocals. Penn Station was my life. I can't wait to see the newly renovated one.

The Puerto Rican girls that hung out at the Fun House are 100% responsible for the 80s NYC club fashion along with black hip-hop culture & the punk scene. This little club scene style went global...maybe even intergalactic. One person exposed it to the masses. I'm talking about Madonna! Her look is the FUNHOUSE! The Puerto Rican girls deserve a lot of credit for her style. They don't get it and they should. (I will fully address in another post.)


Back to Mr. Baker:

This was an ANTHEM!!!!!!!!!!

Imagine dancing to this in the club?

Imagine seeing it live?

.....and this 38-year-old tee-shirt to prove it. Friday's were usually The Funhouse nights. Roseland started Break Dance Fridays to draw a crowd on Fridays.


Looking back I was present for some iconic moments in time. I have chatted with Arthur (on Twitter). He told me he is working on a documentary project and asked for any memorabilia I had to contribute. COOL AF!

Look at my weekend. Friday Rocker's Revenge & Saturday Whodini!!

#Vinyl :-) All of my coins went to clubs, clothes, & music.




A top 5 club moment - seeing Afrika Bambaataa & The Soul Sonic Force at Roseland.

I remember this night so well. The club was packed. When they performed they did the usual crowd participation move that bands make....splitting up the crowd. You know who is louder, the people on the left, right, or in the middle?


Mr. Biggs, Pow Wow, and Emcee G.L.O.B.E. I recall like it was yesterday I was on the right side, G. L. O. B .E's side. Each side had to scream to see who was more pumped.



NEW EDITION 4/2 / SOUL SONIC FORCE 4/9 / VISUAL 4/16

April 2nd was Chuck Leonard's birthday, plus New Edition again. Chuck is a legend.


I'd love to time travel back and time and revisit a club night like this. Look at the lineup each weekend on any of my flyers. These are just normal weekends at the club!!! Just the club!!


There will never be a club scene live in the 70s/80s. I was too young for the 70s club scene. Studio 54 & Paradise Garage in the 70s...I WISH!!!


Shout out to Visual and this song. I saw them every time they played the clubs.

(Good early 80s visuals in the video.)



Random video of my local news doing a funny story on Manhattan. Manhattan is a word we need to bring back. The accents lol! NY has changed so much.


31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page